You are here

The Sixteen Bodhisattva Precepts

The Three Refuges (Three Treasures)

I take refuge in the Buddha.

I take refuge in the Dharma.

I take refuge in the Sangha.


The Three Pure Precepts

I vow not to commit evil.

I vow to cultivate goodness.

I vow to help others.


The Ten Grave Precepts

I vow not to kill, but to cherish all life.

I vow not to steal, but to respect that which belongs to others.

I vow not to misuse sexual energy, but to be honest and respectful.

I vow not to lie, but to speak the truth.

I vow not to misuse drugs or alcohol, but to keep the mind clear.

I vow not to gossip about others’ faults, but to be understanding and sympathetic.

I vow not to praise myself by criticizing others, but to overcome my own shortcomings.

I vow not to withhold spiritual or material aid, but to give freely when needed.

I vow not to unleash anger, but to seek its source.

I vow not to speak ill of the Three Treasures, but to cherish and uphold them.


Jukai is a public ceremony of taking on the Sixteen Precepts as a way of life and becoming a Zen Buddhist.